admire

There are a lot of people I admire:

  • Musicians
  • Artists
  • My Husband
  • My Parents
  • Single Moms
  • Good Speakers

…and the list could go on and on. Latest thing I admire, those that stick to writing and doing it consistently. I’m sure if you’re reading this, you are a close friend, family or just polite in reading my ramblings, but at the same time you’ve seen that I struggle with sticking to it.

Why do we admire someone?

I looked up definition of admire.

ad·mire 

/ədˈmī(ə)r/

Verb
  1. Regard (an object, quality, or person) with respect or warm approval.
  2. Look at with pleasure.

I love the idea of warm approval. It really isn’t that I covet these gifts or strengths. I don’t yearn to have them. I might dabble in some of the areas where people I admire are strong, but I truly don’t want the gift they have. I like to celebrate in their strength. Enjoy how they were made and know that I am made differently – and that’s ok!

So, I might not be consistent, I may not be the best writer, I may not be able to sing a tune in key or talk in front of a group of people without stammering. I am going to celebrate the gifts I have and at the same time admire those of my family and friends.

For even as the body is one and yet has many members, and all the members of the body, though they are many, are one body, so also is Christ. For by one Spirit we were all baptized into one body, whether Jews or Greeks, whether slaves or free, we were all made to drink of one Spirit. – 1 Corinthians 12:12-13

About Amie Heath

A crazy redhead - subject to change - that has some weird ideas and probably likes to talk too much! I'm married to the Jolly German and have been known to brag about him here and there as we try and follow God's lead each step of the way.
This entry was posted in Identity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment